11 players cut from Ireland squad

Eddie O’Sullivan has trimmed his squad preparing for the Rugby World Cup from 48 down to 37.  The remaining players will now prepare for the warm-up match against Scotland next weekend.

The unlucky eleven are Tony Buckley, Peter Bracken, Ryan Caldwell, Johnny O’Connor, Roger Wilson, Tomas O’Leary, Jeremy Staunton, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney and Kieran Lewis.

The remaining squad is as follows:

Forwards (22):
Neil Best – Belfast Harlequins/Ulster
Rory Best – Belfast Harlequins/Ulster
Simon Best – Belfast Harlequins/Ulster
Leo Cullen – Blackrock College/Leinster
Simon Easterby – Llanelli
Stephen Ferris -Dungannon/Ulster
Jerry Flannery – Shannon/Munster
Keith Gleeson – St.Mary’s College/Leinster
John Hayes – Bruff/Munster
Jamie Heaslip – Clontarf/Leinster
Trevor Hogan – Shannon/Leinster
Marcus Horan – Shannon/Munster
Bernard Jackman – Clontarf/Leinster
Denis Leamy – Cork Constitution/Munster
Donncha O’Callaghan – Cork Constitution/Munster
Paul O’Connell – Young Munster/Munster
Mick O’Driscoll – Cork Constitution/Munster
Malcolm O’Kelly – St.Mary’s College/Leinster
Alan Quinlan – Shannon/Munster
Frankie Sheahan – Cork Constitution/Munster
David Wallace – Garryowen/Munster
Bryan Young – Ballymena/Ulster

Backs (15):
Isaac Boss – Ballymena/Ulster
Tommy Bowe – Belfast Harlequins/Ulster
Brian Carney – Clonakilty/Munster
Gordon D’Arcy – Lansdowne/Leinster
Girvan Dempsey – Terenure College/Leinster
Gavin Duffy – Galwegians/Connacht
Shane Horgan – Lansdowne/Leinster
Denis Hickie – St. Mary’s College/Leinster
Geordan Murphy – Leicester
Brian O’Driscoll – UCD/Leinster
Ronan O’Gara – Cork Constitution/Munster
Eoin Reddan – Wasps
Peter Stringer – Shannon/Munster
Andrew Trimble – Ballymena/Ulster
Paddy Wallace – Ballymena/Ulster