France Squad for Autumn Internationals 2012

France logoGaël Fickou, Toulouse’s 18 year old centre and rising star, has been named in the 33-man French squad for the Autumn Internationals by Phillipe Saint-Andre.

Fickou has been one of the star performers for Toulouse in the Top 14 this season, further enhancing his reputation with a fantastic Heineken Cup debut against Leicester on Sunday, including a remarkable individual try.

Another young player, who has been rewarded with a call up for his strong club form, is Pierrick Gunther the 23 year-old Toulon back row forward.

Injury aside, the most notable absentee is Aurelien Rougerie, but Saint-Andre insists that this is so he can get some club games under his belt with Clermont after an ankle injury over the summer.

“We were very happy with the performances of the three centres we took to Argentina. Aurelien has only just returned from an ankle injury and has played very little rugby for Clermont”, Saint-Andre justified.

The notable injury absentees are Dimitri Yachvilli, Imanol Harinordoquy, Alexis Pallison and Maxime Médard.

France Squad for Autumn Internationals:

Eddy Ben Arous (Racing-Métro), Thomas Domingo (Clermont), Yannick Forestier (Castres), Benjamin Kayser (Clermont), Christopher Tolofua (Stade Toulousain), Dimitri Szarzewski (Racing-Métro), David Attoub (Stade Français), Vincent Debaty (Clermont), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Yoann Maestri (Stade Toulousain), Pascal Papé (Stade Français), Jocelino Suta (Toulon), Sébastien Vahaamahina (Perpignan), Damien Chouly (Clermont), Thierry Dusautoir (Stade Toulousain, cap.), Pierrick Gunther (Toulon), Wenceslas Lauret (Biarritz), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Louis Picamoles (Stade Toulousain).

Maxime Machenaud (Racing-Métro), Morgan Parra (Clermont), Frédéric Michalak (Toulon), Jules Plisson (Stade Français), François Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Vincent Clerc (Stade Toulousain), Brice Dulin (Castres), Benjamin Fall (Racing-Métro), Gaël Fickou (Stade Toulousain), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Florian Fritz (Stade Toulousain), Yoann Huget (Stade Toulousain), Vincent Martin (Toulon), Maxime Mermoz (Toulon).