IRB announces 2014 Pacific Nations Cup format


The IRB have announced the fixtures and times for the 2014 edition of the Pacific Nations Cup. It features a revamped competition format, with six teams playing in two groups of three.

In Pool A Samoa, Tonga and Fiji will battle it out to determine the Pacific Island conference champion for 2014, while in Pool B USA, Canada and Japan will compete for the Asia/Pacific conference title. The tournament will take place over three match days on June 7, 14 and 21.

IRB Head of Competitions and Performance Mark Egan said: “The Pacific Nations Cup is an excellent opportunity for all participating teams to play some tough, competitive test matches with just over a year to go until Rugby World Cup 2015.”

“We have a long-term commitment through our 10-year Strategic Plan to create greater levels of quality Test competition for Tier Two nations in order to boost the competitiveness of the world Game.”

“The PNC will help us reach that goal, but also provide some great Rugby for local fans, especially on the last day when great rivals Fiji take on Samoa in Suva and USA host their neighbours Canada in California.”

There will be two further competitions for Tier Two nations this summer in the form of the IRB Tbilisi Cup and IRB Nations Cup, both of which will take place in June also.

IRB Pacific Nations Cup 2014 Fixtures (all times are local)

Saturday, June 7

14:00 – Samoa v Tonga, Apia Park, Samoa
18:00 – Canada v Japan, Swangard Stadium, Burnaby, British Columbia

Wednesday, June 14

15:00 – Fiji v Tonga, Churchill Park, Lautoka, Fiji
19:30 – USA v Japan, Stub Hub Center, Los Angeles, CA

Sunday, June 21

15:00 – Fiji v Samoa, ANZ Stadium, Suva, Fiji
15:00 – USA v Canada, Cal Expo Facility, Sacramento, CA

Photo by: Patrick Khachfe / Onside Images

6 thoughts on “IRB announces 2014 Pacific Nations Cup format

  1. Not sure about this, e.g. last summer Samoa played Italy, Scotland and South Africa. I liked that quadrangula format, expanding upon it could have NZ, Aus, SA and Argentina each host a quadrangula each summer, which seems like a good way of ensuring quality games for 16 teams on an annual basis (lions years aside).

  2. Just makes me think wistfully of what a Pacific Nations test team could do. While I understand the reluctance of merging their identity with others, a Pacific Nations team would be formidable and would be a worthy addition to the southern hemisphere’s Rugby Championship.

    1. Can you really imagine bringing together a diverse but culturally similar group of countries into a single team? Ah ……….. the Lions!

Comments are closed.