Johnson announces squad to tour New Zealand

Martin Johnson has shown the first glimpse of his selection intentions, and thankfully, Iain Balshaw won’t be unleashed on the All Blacks this summer.

Steve Borthwick is named as captain, with uncapped players Topsy Ojo, Danny Care, Jason Hobson, Dylan Hartley, David Paice and Nick Kennedy featuring.

The full squad is shown below. Are there any surprises? Do we stand a chance?

Backs: M Brown (Harlequins), P Sackey (Wasps), D Strettle (Harlequins), T Ojo (London Irish), M Tait (Newcastle), M Tindall (Gloucester), J Noon (Newcastle), T Flood (Newcastle), O Barkley (Bath), D Cipriani (Wasps), C Hodgson (Sale Sharks), R Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), P Richards (London Irish), D Care (Harlequins).

Forwards: A Sheridan (Sale Sharks), T Payne (Wasps), M Stevens (Bath), J Hobson (Bristol), L Mears (Bath), D Hartley (Northampton), D Paice (London Irish), S Borthwick (Bath, capt), B Kay (Leicester), N Kennedy (London Irish), T Palmer (Wasps), T Croft (Leicester), J Haskell (Wasps), J Worsley (Wasps), M Lipman (Bath), T Rees (Wasps), N Easter (Harlequins), L Narraway (Gloucester).

One thought on “Johnson announces squad to tour New Zealand

  1. All in all much to be positive about here I think. Let’s face it, we haven’t got a chance of winning the series, but I’d like to see us start to form the core of a settled side and show that we can compete against the All Blacks without getting totally blown away like the Lions in 05.

    What’s happened to Hipkiss? The BBC listed the tour team, the Saxons team and players not considered due to injury, and he wasn’t in either.

Comments are closed.