Lions Team to face Emerging Springboks

The British and Irish Lions team to take on the Emerging Springboks tomorrow has been announced, and is below.

Martyn Williams has a chance to push for a Test place, and the fact that Simon Shaw is on the bench may mean he is in the frame to replace Alun Wyn Jones on Saturday.

Mears and Vickery are also among the replacements having been taken off shortly after half time on Saturday, as is Ugo Monye.

Any thoughts? Is there anything to read into this selection?

British & Irish Lions versus Emerging Springboks on Tuesday 22nd June:

15. Keith Earls (Munster/Ireland)
14. Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales)
13. Riki Flutey (London Wasps/England)
12. Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster/Ireland)
11. Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland)
10. Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Ireland) Captain
9. Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers/England)
8. Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
7. Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
6. Joe Worsley (London Wasps/England)
5. Nathan Hines (Perpignan/Scotland)
4. Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster/Ireland)
3. John Hayes (Munster/Ireland)
2. Ross Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland)
1. Tim Payne (London Wasps/England)

16. Lee Mears (Bath/England)
17. Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England)
18. Simon Shaw (London Wasps/England)
19. David Wallace (Munster/Ireland)
20. Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland)
21. James Hook (Ospreys/Wales)
22. Ugo Monye (Harlequins/England)