NSW Waratahs name team to face the Lions

waratahsWaratahs coach Michael Cheika has named a strong line-up to play the Lions this weekend. Released Wallaby Dave Dennis captains the team from no.8, while centre Rob Horne has also been allowed to play by Australia coach Robbie Deans.

Bernard Foley, back from international 7s duty, runs the show from fly-half, and is one of the most dangerous players in this year’s Super Rugby competition. He tops the stats board for try assists, as well as being third in the clean breaks stakes. Outside him, flyer Cam Crawford has 7 tries in Super Rugby this season – one away from the top of the leaderboard – while experienced international Drew Mitchell lines up at fullback, and will be familiar with a lot of the guys he is facing.

There is only one player in the entire squad without Super Rugby experience, replacement prop Sam Talaki.

Waratahs Head Coach Michael Cheika said, “This is a once in a lifetime opportunity and we want it to be something worth remembering. We’re going to go for it, we can’t be looking for a glorious defeat. As a player, you want to say that you played in an international-level fixture and you made something of it.”

Cheika added, “We’re playing against a team with a massive artillery. Obviously I’d like to have all our international players available but fair play to the ARU to giving us Dave and Rob back and for releasing Bernard and Matt from the sevens camp.

“We’ve been all about trying to develop a winning attitude, no matter who’s in the jersey. The odds are against us, massively, but we’ll try and buck them. As long as there’s a chance, we’ll take it. Anything in red that moves, we’ll have a crack at. We need to play our game and do it as best we can and see what happens.”

Waratahs team to play the Lions:
1. Jeremy Tilse
2. John Ulugia
3. Paddy Ryan
4. Will Skelton
5. Ollie Atkins
6. Jed Holloway
7. Pat McCutcheon
8. Dave Dennis
9. Brendan McKibbin
10. Bernard Foley
11. Peter Betham
12. Tom Carter
13. Rob Horne
14. Cam Crawford
15. Drew Mitchell

16. Luke Holmes
17. Richard Aho
18. Sam Talakai
19. Lopeti Timani
20. AJ Gilbert
21. Matt Lucas
22. Ben Volavola
23. Tom Kingston

2 thoughts on “NSW Waratahs name team to face the Lions

Comments are closed.