Robshaw named Player of the Season at Aviva Premiership Awards

Harlequins and England captain Chris Robshaw was named Player of the Season at last night’s Aviva Premiership Awards in London after beating off competition from Nick Wood, James Scaysbrook, Julian Salvi, Brad Barritt and teammate Mike Brown.

In another outstanding campaign, Robshaw made up for not being included in England’s Rugby World Cup squad by brilliantly leading Harlequins to the top of the table, where they have remained all season, finishing in 1st place after their away win against Sale last weekend. Robshaw also lead England to 2nd place in the RBS Six Nations with important victories over Ireland and Scotland, cementing the captaincy for the near future.

It has also been a remarkable season for the Exeter Chiefs and this was recognised by their Director of Rugby, Rob Baxter, picking up the QBE Director of Rugby of the Season Award ahead of Conor O’Shea and Richard Cockerill. Baxter has led a spirited Exeter side from the Championship to Heineken Cup qualification in just two seasons, a phenomenal achievement. Chiefs winger Gonzalo Camacho was also an award winner, picking up the Gatorade Game Changer Award.

The Land Rover Discovery of the Season was Owen Farrell, with the young England and Saracens star capping an outstanding 12 months following the Premiership success last May with his England debut, where he was lauded in the Six Nations for his performances. His success came at the expense of Matt Kvesic, Jonathan Joseph, Joe Launchbury and Christian Wade.

There were also awards for two of England’s promising back three stars, with Jonny May winning try of the season for this effort against Harlequins, and Tom Homer picking up the Gilbert Golden Boot by kicking 253 points for London Irish in a frustrating season.

Other winners on the night included Irish legend Bob Casey, with the retiring second row receiving generous applause from the packed audience after he picked up the Aviva Community Player of the Year award for his work in several community projects. Newcastle Falcons’ Luke Fielden also had cause for celebration when he picked up the JP Morgan 7s Player of the Season.

Here is the full list of winners from the night, including the ESPN Dream Team:

Chris Robshaw – Player of the Season
Rob Baxter – Director of Rugby of the Season
Owen Farrell – Land Rover Discovery of the Season
Jonny May – Try of the Season
Tom Homer – Gilbert Golden Boot
Bob Casey – Aviva Community Player of the Year
Gonzalo Camacho – Gatorade Game Changer Award
Luke Fielden – JP Morgan 7s Player of the Season

ESPN Dream Team:

15. Mike Brown, 14. Horacio Agulla, 13. George Lowe, 12. George Pisi, 11. Alesana Tuilagi, 10. Toby Flood, 9. Haydn Thomas; 1. Joe Marler, 2. Schalk Brits, 3. Dan Cole, 4. Samu Manoa, 5. Geoff Parling, 6. Chris Robshaw (c), 7. James Scaysbrook, 8. Nick Easter

If you would like to watch a replay of last night’s awards, it will be broadcast tonight on ESPN from 9pm. Do you agree with the choices?

One thought on “Robshaw named Player of the Season at Aviva Premiership Awards

Comments are closed.