Rugby Championship 2014: South Africa team to play Australia

saruHeyneke Meyer has made six changes to the South Africa side that scraped past Argentina in Salta for this weekend’s game against Australia in Perth.

Jan Serfontein and Morne Steyn come into the backline, while Tendai Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss, Victor Matfield and Marcel Coetzee are included in a much reshuffled pack.

Bismarck du Plessis, Lood de Jager and Damien de Allende shift to the bench, where they are joined by Trever Nyakane, Marcel van der Merwe, Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie and Warren Whiteley, who could win his first cap.

Bryan Habana, meanwhile, is set to become just the fourth South African of all time to win 100 caps after being named on the wing.

South Africa team to play Australia:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (capt), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Damian de Allende.

Date: Saturday, September 6
Kick-off: 18:05 local (11:05 BST, 10:05 GMT)
Venue: Patersons Stadium, Perth
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)

3 thoughts on “Rugby Championship 2014: South Africa team to play Australia

  1. Can anyone who follows super rugby/the springboks closely explain what happened the JJ Englebrecht? Was his form so poor that Meyer has had to play so many players out of position there?

Comments are closed.