Scotland announce team for Ireland clash

Andy Robinson has revealed his team for Saturday’s match at Murrayfield against Ireland, making five changes and one positional change from the team that last faced Italy during the Six Nations.

There is a first start for Ross Rennie at openside flanker, whilst the uncapped David Denton and Jack Cuthbert are on the bench. The team is led by Gloucester’s Rory Lawson.

15 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh)
14 Nikki Walker (Ospreys)
13 Joe Ansbro (London Irish)
12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Sean Lamont (Scarlets)
10 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors)
9 Rory Lawson (c) (Gloucester)
1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)
2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
3 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh)
4 Jim Hamilton (Gloucester)
5 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester)
8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)
7 Ross Rennie (Edinburgh)


16 Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks)
18 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)
19 David Denton (Edinburgh)
20 Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh)
21 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh)
22 Jack Cuthbert (Bath)

4 thoughts on “Scotland announce team for Ireland clash

  1. Interesting team. Looks very much like he is trying combinations, for example in the centre and front row. He’s got 2/3rds of the starting FR in there but needs to choose a tighthead. Think G-Morr and Joe Ansbro could well end up the key centre pairing too…

  2. Well, I presume Max Evans is ahead of him in the pecking order generally, but might as well give him a run out. The should certainly give Evans a bit of game time both on the wing and at centre, see which works best. Looking forward to seeing Ansbro.

  3. I am not liking the lack of Alastair Kellock. He and Richie Gray play well together and feed off of each other at club level and they appeared to do this too during the 6N.
    I like the fact that Andy Robinson is experimenting, but this list does not fill me with too much confidence

Comments are closed.