South Africa name team to take on Australia

South Africa head coach Heyneke Meyer has made two changes to his starting line-up for this weekend’s Rugby Championship game against Australia, both apparently part of a ‘planned rotation’.

Adriaan Strauss comes in for Bismarck du Plessis at hooker, while Fourie du Preez starts ahead of Ruan Pienaar at scrum-half. Bismarck’s brother Jannie, as well as fly-half Morné Steyn will win their 50th caps at Newlands as South Africa look to get their campaign back on track after the controversial loss to New Zealand.

South Africa team to play Australia, Newlands, Sat KO 16.00 (local time):
15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Juandré Kruger, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.

One thought on “South Africa name team to take on Australia

Comments are closed.