Stephen Ferris cleared at citing hearing for tackle on Ian Evans

The Ireland & Ulster flanker has been cleared of any further punishment after being cited for his tackle on Ian Evans. The resulting penalty ultimately cost Ireland the game, as Leigh Halfpenny converted the chance to give Wales a 21-23 lead. Having now been cleared, Ferris is free to play against France this weekend.

Ferris has since tweeted: “Thank goodness that is all over. Happy man.” (@StephenFerris6)

Is this the right decision? Should it have been a penalty in the first place?

14 thoughts on “Stephen Ferris cleared at citing hearing for tackle on Ian Evans

  1. Yes, it’s the right call. The yellow was harsh in the first place. It WAS a penalty though – you can’t lift a player like that. Once you grab a player’s thigh you’re in the wrong IMO.

    Don’t see why Ryan wasn’t cited. Adam Jones could have been cheated out of another tournament by that idiot. Just because he was then assaulted by a bigger idiot, he gets off completely? Daft.

    Bradley – no argument. Provocation notwithstanding, what he did was malicious and inexcusable. I would have liked Wales to have publicly dropped him before the hearing, but perhaps that’s too much to ask.

    1. “Don’t see why Ryan wasn’t cited. Adam Jones could have been cheated out of another tournament by that idiot. Just because he was then assaulted by a bigger idiot, he gets off completely? Daft.

      lmfao cited for clearing out a ruck through the gate?? Tell Ryan to protect the ball and himself better and while your doing it go look at the video again you moron.

    2. That shouldnt have been he lifted one leg he doesnt have full controle of the other players body bad call.

    3. That makes it two years in a row in the six nations diabolical refereeing has cost Ireland against Wales. Last year the illegal quick throw in from touch which led to the try. This year Davies should have had red and all independent commentators say Ferris tackle no yellow and no penalty.

  2. You do realise that what Ryan did was both legal and effecive… Had POC been more switched on he could have followed Ryan through the gate and we may have turned it over……. Never let the facts get in the way of a good whinge now…………….

  3. Stephen- Ferris’s tackle may have been a penalty in your opinion, but not according to the rules of rugby.

  4. My initial reaction live was that it was a good, hard tackle. Not a penalty. But by law lifting the leg that way is a penalty (see IRB Law 10.4(j))

    It cost Ireland the game. You could argue Wales looked like scoring, but there’s no fact that they would have. You can argue that they were the better team, but the better team doesn’t always win, look at France in the World Cup final. Far from a simple situation.

    1. You did read the law book and watched the match/clip?

      “Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground such that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.”

      The Welsh player was not lifted off the ground – he had one foot on the ground at all times!

      Having said that at least there is a gladiatorial contest between Wales and Ireland. Unfortunately both last year and this the result was spoiled by inept refereeing of critical events.

      The referee can’t see everything, but he does have two assistants who should be following the match and all events on their respective sides. This was typical of current referees trying to make a name for themselves.

      What we need is a American Football challenge system where the captains get two(?) chances to refer to the TMO.

      1. Suggest you re-watch, Ian Evans does not have one foot on the ground at all times; both feet are above his head when he hits the ground (pause at 3:21). It would have looked a lot worse if he hadn’t managed to get an hand and elbow out to cushion his fall

        By the exact letter of the law, that is dangerous play. Ferris’ body angle clearly shows that he is driving Evans towards the ground and he has lifted him past the horizontal.

        I don’t like the law but for me that penalty was entirely correct. Should never have been cited though

        As for Bradley Davies – obvious red card and very lucky to get away with such a short ban

  5. Rob really should read the laws of the game again and then have a good look at the video. Ryans entry into the ruck was legitimate. He entered through the gate. His head and shoulders were above waist high and he bound with an opponent. A rather sudden bind admitedly! His Welsh opponent had turned to put his side to the ruck and thus was easily and ligitimately pushed back. There seems to be a flurry of comments on this and many other websites trying to put some blame on Ryan (blame the victim) in an attempt to mitigate Davis thuggery.

Comments are closed.