UR7s Launches UK National Sevens Series

The UK Sevens scene is set to be revamped in 2010 following the launch today of the first ever UK National Sevens Series, put together by our friends at UR7s and approved by the RFU.
“We have been developing the UK National Sevens Series for 18 months and it is an essential step in harnessing UK potential,” said Tim Lacey, Founder & CEO of Ultimate Rugby Sevens. “Today’s announcement marks Ultimate Rugby Sevens’ intention to lead the way in a new era for the sport with a pioneering property that will bring increased structure and direction to the UK Sevens season.”

The Series will take place in June/July 2010 and in its inaugural year, tournaments will take place in London, Bath, Manchester and Newquay. It will feature 10 teams, including national-level players from across the UK, battling for individual tournament honours and the overall, aggregate Series title. With the support of the Home Unions, UR7s plans to expand the Series to Wales and Scotland in subsequent seasons.
“The announcement of the UK National Series is a huge step forward for Rugby Sevens in the UK,” said Ben Ryan, England Rugby Union Sevens coach and RFU National Academy Coach. “It will give Sevens a stronger platform in this country and give increased opportunities for more players to experience this great sport.”
The 2010 Tournament will feature the following events:
RugbyRocks London 7s, June 12th
West Country 7s (Bath), June 19th
Manchester 7s, July 4th
Newquay Surf 7s, July 17th

Series Structure:
The UK National Sevens will comprise of ten core specialist Sevens teams, featuring national-level players, plus two invitational sides competing at each host tournament. Teams gain points on where they finish at each event aggregating a Series league table.

For all the details, head to UR7s.com