VIDEO: Jon Davies’ trip on Chris Ashton

The match officials missed it, but the TV cameras picked up this trip by Jon Davies on Chris Ashton during England’s victory over Wales on Friday.

Davies was one of best players on the Welsh team and they’ll be fearing any action by the citing commissioners, which could put his participation in the rest of the tournament at risk.

“There was no bad intentions. I am not a dirty player. All I remember is putting the ball through on the floor, going to kick it on again and unfortunately I got his leg.”

“There were no bad intentions at all. Hopefully nothing more will come of it.”

What do you think? Take a look at the clip and let us know:


12 thoughts on “VIDEO: Jon Davies’ trip on Chris Ashton

  1. If he genuinely meant to kick the ball, that is one of the worse mistimed kicks i’ve ever seen – especially as the ball was already in Ashtons hands. Will be interesting to see what the citing commissioners say.

  2. Yellow card. No doubt. If we wanted to see stupid thugs on the field, we’d all be watching football.

  3. Clumsy? Yes. Deliberate? No. With Ashton being off-balance, Davies was undoubtedly close enough to smash him legally. He probably had his eyes on the ball more than the player. The slow-mo replay beginning with the ball in Ashton’s hands makes it look worse than it was.

  4. Red, I just do not want to see this crazy things on the field. A bit harsh probably because you can not injure anyone with it but a red will keep this stuff out of our game.

  5. I say red as well. Clearly deliberate too because by the time Ashton had the ball in hand he had bags of time to pull out of it.

    No one should be allowed to just trip someone and think they can get away with 10 minutes in the bin. There’s no place for it in rugby, unlike in football where it’s possible to genuinely mistime a tackle, so why should anyone be allowed to get away with it?

    Admittedly, an injury was unlikely from this one, but tripping can do – I was amazed that Jason Robinson didn’t get more seriously hurt in the RWC 2003 semi when Dominici tripped him.

    I would just add that I’m not just being biased towards England – my view of tripping was exactly the same when Vickery tripped a USA player in RWC 2007!

    Aside from our debate about how he should have been punished, if you’re Welsh, you have to ask what the hell was he doing when they were already down to 14? There can’t be much doubt that it would probably have been at least a yellow if it had been spotted, meaning a spell with 13 men, and it’s not as though Ashton was 10 yards from the line at the time.

  6. I didn’t think it was that bad. Yellow card if the ref had seen it (which he probably did). It was instinct as the ball had just been scooped up so he was intent on kicking it and then should have pulled out but didn’t. I don’t think he should be cited and this isn’t something that we see very often in the game.

  7. It’s something we see more and more though. Alun Wynn Jones for example in this fixture last year in addition to the others mentioned above.

    I think a yellow would be right under those circumstances on Saturday, a red if it was stopping a try-scoring opportunity (note, not just a certain try but a clear opportunity). This might introduce more subjectivity than the powers-that-be would want but it would be treated the same as a professional foul in football. I think we should be able to trust the officials to use their discretion and get that right 9 times out of 10.

  8. The video here doesn’t show the whole incident so it’s difficult to judge his intention. My reaction during the game was that it looked clumsy, but the slow-mo makes it look worse than it is.

    On your point though Stuart, I disagree that this type of infringement should be judged on where on the pitch it occurs and whether there’s a scoring opportunity or not. A trip isn’t a professional foul; it’s foul play. Foul play should be treated the same wherever it is on the pitch, and whichever context. If a player shows intent (which I’m not sure Davies did) then it should be a straight red, simple as that.

  9. It’s a bit of a grey area. In terms of intent it’s more akin to killing the ball or not rolling away at the tackle in that it’s cynical and designed to stop the opposition attack in its tracks. The intent is not to hurt a player which is what foul play seeks to do. So it’s sort of foul play but I think it actually falls into a different category because the intent, and the result of it, is different. And I know Dominici’s was a bit more vicious – it would be up to the officials to differentiate between a trip and a kick.

  10. Accident, my arse. Yellow would have made sense. Seems like the citing officer was lenient in response to the player’s totally incredible denial of intent…would have thought the opposite was appropriate.

    When blokes like Davies or Mealamu say “I am not a dirty player” it reminds me of when people start a sentence with “I’m not a racist…”

Comments are closed.