Argentina name squad to play South Africa

argHead coach Santiago Phelan has named his squad to take on the Springboks this weekend in Soweto. Felipe Contepomi captains the team from the centres in the absence of Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, who is sidelined with a calf injury.

After resting many players for the summer visit of England, there is a return to action of the majority of senior players. Marcos Ayerza, the dynamic Leicester loosehead, is another player that misses out through injury; Juan Figallo switches over from tighthead, while Matias Diaz takes the no.3 shirt. Along with Diaz, Contepomi makes his tournament debut having missed last year’s championship through injury, as does blindside Pablo Matera.

Argentina team to play South Africa, Sat 17th Aug KO 17.00 (local time)
15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Felipe Contepomi (captain), 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Matias Diaz, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Juan Figallo.

16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Julio Farias Cabello, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Santiago Fernandez, 23 Horacio Agulla.