South Africa add Du Toit and De Jongh to squad

springbokSpringbok head coach Heyneke Meyer has recalled duo Pieter-Steph du Toit and Juan de Jongh ahead of South Africa’s final two tests in the Rugby Championship.

Du Toit, a 21-year old lock forward, was part of the Boks’ original squad in June but was forced to withdraw due to a sternum injury. He has fully recovered and rejoins the squad after two outings in the Currie Cup for the Sharks.

Centre de Jongh is back after showing solid form for Western Province, having been left out of the squads that travelled to Argentina, Australia and New Zealand.

“It’s great to see Pieter-Steph back in action and I have to commend The Sharks for the good work they’ve done on getting him back to full match fitness,” said Meyer.

“He has always been part of our long-term plans and we’re looking forward to welcoming him back into the Springbok fold. Juan is an experienced player and will slot back into the squad with ease as we start our preparations for the Test against Australia at DHL Newlands on Saturday.”

South Africa squad for their final two Rugby Championship Tests:

Forwards (17): Lourens Adriaanse, Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Juandré Kruger, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs (13): Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (captain), Fourie du Preez, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Ruan Pienaar, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn, Jano Vermaak.