Springboks name squad for June series

logoSouth Africa head coach Heyneke Meyer has had to do without several big names, ruled out by injury, when naming his squad for the upcoming test series against Wales and a World XV.

Captain and SARU player of the year 2013 Jean de Villiers misses out with a knee injury, while Eben Etzebeth, Adriaan Strauss, Jaque Fourie and Patrick Lambie, all regulars in the squad over the past couple of years, are also absent.

There are seven uncapped players in the squad, in the form of Damian de Allende, Lood de Jager, Cornal Hendricks, Teboho Mohoje, S’bura Sithole, Marcel van der Merwe and Callie Visagie. Meanwhile Schalk Brits, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, Lwazi Mvovo and Frans Steyn – all of whom last played in 2012 – return to the squad.

Schalk Burger and Victor Matfield – both World Cup winners – are also notable inclusions.

South Africa squad for June series:

Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Marcell Coetzee, Damian De Allende, Lodewyk de Jager, Juan de Jongh, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Fourie du Preez, JJ Engelbrecht, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Cornal Hendricks, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Siya Kolisi, Willie le Roux, Francois Louw, Victor Matfield, Teboho ‘Oupa’ Mohoje, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Jan Serfontein, S’bura Sithole, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Flip van der Merwe, Marcel van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen, Callie Visagie.