Argentina squad announced for Rugby Championship opener


Argentina head coach Daniel Hourcade has named a 26-man squad to travel to South Africa for their game on 16th August.

The squad is captained by hooker Agustín Creevy, despite the presence of former captains Juan Martín Fernandez Lobbe and Juan Manuel Leguizamon. Hourcade says the presence of these players, as well as fellow veterans Marcos Ayerza, Juan Martin Hernandez and Marcelo Bosch, gives his side a good chance of getting a victory this year, after six losses in 2013’s tournament.

“Playing against South Africa as visitors will be tough, but the key will be to not let them be comfortable, tackle low and not let them play…I have a lot of confidence in the team,” Hourcade told Reuters.

Captain Creevy added: “I’m aiming for the team to play the best possible rugby to keep growing as a team ahead of the World Cup next year. We’ll always go out to win.”

Argentina squad for The Rugby Championship:

Backs: Joaquin Tuculet, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Manuel Montero, Horacio Agulla, Juan Imhoff, Marcelo Bosch, Nicolas Sanchez, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Martin Hernandez, Martin Landajo, Tomas Cubelli

Forwards: Juan Fernandez Lobbe, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Pablo Matera, Leonardo Senatore, Rodrigo Baez, Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza, Matias Alemanno, Marcos Ayerza, Ramiro Herrera, Lucas Noguera Paz, Bruno Postiglioni, Nuhuel Tetaz Chaparro, Matias Cortese, Agustin Creevy (captain)