Australia name team to play New Zealand

ausThe big shock of Ewen McKenzie’s first Australai line-up comes in the shape of Quade Cooper’s ommission. Uncapped Brumbie fly-half Matt Toomua starts in his place, despite the relationship Cooper and McKenzie have after their time together at the Reds.

Elsewhere Jesse Mogg starts at full-back, while James O’Connor’s ill-fated affair with the no.10 jersey comes to an end as he is shifted to the wing, with the sublime Israel Folau continuing on the opposite side. Ben Mowen shifts to no.8 with Hugh McMeniman coming in on the blindside.

Australia team to play New Zealand, Sat 17th Aug KO 20.05 (local time)
15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Israel Folau, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Christian Leali’ifano, 11 James O’Connor, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Hugh McMeniman, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 James Slipper.

Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Scott Fardy, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Nic White, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Tevita Kuridrani.

2 thoughts on “Australia name team to play New Zealand

  1. Fair play to Ewen McKenzie for picking with his head rather than heart. Cooper will be a valuable member of the squad throughout the championship but Toomua had an excellent end to the season and must have seriously impressed in training.

Comments are closed.