Ireland team to play Australia

irelandJoe Schmidt has recalled talismanic second row Paul O’Connell to lead the Ireland side against Australia this weekend. Devin Toner continues next to him in the engine room, while Leinster duo Cian Healy and Sean O’Brien both start in the pack.

Eoin Reddan is preferred at scrum-half to Conor Murray, and partners the returning Johnny Sexton. Luke Marshall comes in at inside centre to join Brian O’Driscoll, who earns his 127th cap. Interestingly, 11 of the starting XV featured in the 2011 World Cup win over Australia.

Ireland team to play Australia:
15. Rob Kearney
14. Tommy Bowe
13. Brian O’Driscoll
12. Luke Marshall
11. Fergus McFadden
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Eoin Reddan
8. Jamie Heaslip
7. Sean O’Brien
6. Peter O’Mahony
5. Paul O’Connell
4. Devin Toner
3. Mike Ross
2. Rory Best
1. Cian Healy
16. Sean Cronin
17. Jack McGrath
18. Stephen Archer
19. Mike McCarthy
20. Kevin McLaughlin
21. Conor Murray
22. Ian Madigan
23. Robbie Henshaw

2 thoughts on “Ireland team to play Australia

  1. This team is as good as I could imagine. I am surprised that he is playing reddan. Possibly this is to encourage quick ball.

Comments are closed.