Italy’s Provisional Rugby World Cup Squad

Nick Mallett will convene 43 players to form the provisional Italy squad for the Rugby World Cup. The Azzurri coach is convinced that “these players represent the elite of the Italian rugby movement”.

However, some notable players have been left out. For instance, the Aironi flank Josh Sole and Kane Robertson were not considered due to injury, whilst Sergio Dellape has been omitted following his retirement.

Mirco Bergamasco, the Stade Français flanker, is on the road to recovery, however, and has been included in the Italy A team which will take part in the Churchill Cup next weeks in England. The number of players will decrease to 36 by the 20th of June and to 30 by the end of the official training in Alta Val Pusteria, Bolzano, Italy (July 3).

Italy will also play warm up matches against Japan (August 13) and Scotland (August 20).

Italy’s provisional Rugby World Cup squad:

Lorenzo Cittadini (Benetton Treviso), Alberto de Marchi (Aironi), Salvatore Perugini (Aironi), Tommaso D’Apice (Rome), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso), Fabio Ongaro (Aironi), Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Métro), Carlo Festuccia (Racing-Métro), Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester), Valerio Bernabo (Benetton Treviso), Joshua Furno (Aironi), Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi), Marco Bortolami (Aironi), Carlo Antonio del Fava (Aironi), Cornelius Van Zyl (Benetton Treviso), Robert Barbieri (Benetton Treviso), Mauro Bergamasco (Stade Français), Paul Derbyshire (Benetton Treviso), Manoa Vosawai (Benetton Treviso), Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso), Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais).

Pablo Canavosio (Aironi), Fabio Semenzato (Benetton Treviso), Edoardo Gori (Treviso), Riccardo Bocchino (Aironi), Kristopher Burton (Treviso) Tommaso Benvenuti (Benetton Treviso), Gonzalo Garcia (Benetton Treviso), Luciano Orquera (Aironi), Gonzalo Canale (Clermont Auvergne), Durandt Gerber (Gran Parma), Denis Majstorovic (Prato), Luke McLean (Benetton Treviso), Gilberto Pavan (Aironi), Mirco Bergamasco (Racing-Métro), Andrea Masi (Aironi), Andrea Pratichetti (Benetton Treviso), Matteo Pratichetti (Aironi), Michele Sepe (Benetton Treviso), Alberto Sgarbi (Benetton Treviso), Giulio Toniolatti (Benetton Treviso), Ruggero Trevisan (BMP Parma).

by Luca Saba