New Zealand Announce Squad for Rugby World Cup 2011

Graham Henry today announced the 30 man squad that he hopes will be able to win the Webb Ellis Trophy for a second time, and the first time since the inaugural tournament in 1987. With a total number of 1,133 caps between them, this is the most experienced All Blacks squad to take part in a Rugby World Cup.

Experienced backs Hosea Gear and Sitiveni Sivivatu miss out on selection, with the likes of Zac Guildford, Cory Jane and Israel Dagg being some of the preferred options. After his impressive showing in the loss to South Africa last weekend, Victor Vito has sealed a place in the 30 ahead of Liam Messam.

So what do you think of this All Blacks squad? Can they finally win the World Cup for a second time?

Forwards: John Afoa, Anthony Boric, Corey Flynn, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, Andrew Hore, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw, Keven Mealamu, Kieran Read, Brad Thorn, Adam Thomson, Sam Whitelock, Ali Williams, Tony Woodcock, Victor Vito.

Backs: Dan Carter, Jimmy Cowan, Israel Dagg, Andy Ellis, Zac Guildford, Richard Kahui, Cory Jane, Mils Muliaina, Ma’a Nonu, Colin Slade, Conrad Smith, Isaia Toeava, Piri Weepu, Sonny Bill Williams.

One thought on “New Zealand Announce Squad for Rugby World Cup 2011

  1. I can’t believe he keeps putting Toeava in the squad. He has underperformed and he wasn’t even that good against SA. Victor Vito gets the call for 15 minutes of play. UNBELIEVABLE. Both players had miscues throughout the game yesterday. Gear and Matt Todd should be there. They need a specialist #7. Gear is the specialist they need.

Comments are closed.