The Rugby Championship: New Zealand team to play South Africa

All Blacks Steve Hansen has named his All-Black side to face the Springboks in Saturday’s clash in The Rugby Championship.

The All Blacks enter the game brimming with confidence, topping the table with their performances. The injury to Dan Carter means he misses his second successive match, but the form of his replacement Aaron Cruden means that All Black fans have little to worry about. They didn’t even miss Sonny Bill Williams who has left New Zealand to play in Japan.

Hansen has named Piri Weepu as his starting scrum-half, which means that Aaron Smith who started all The Rugby Championship fixtures drops to the bench. In the forwards Hansen has been less accommodating and made three changes: Sam Whitelock replaces Brodie Retallick at lock, Liam Messam comes into the back row for Victor Vito and hooker Andrew Hore is selected in place of veteran Keven Mealamu.

New Zealand:
15. Israel Dagg
14. Cory Jane
13. Conrad Smith
12. Ma’a Nonu
11. Julian Savea
10. Aaron Cruden
9. Piri Weepu

8. Kieran Read
7. Richie McCaw (captain)
6. Liam Messam
5. Sam Whitelock
4. Luke Romano
3. Owen Franks
2. Andrew Hore
1. Tony Woodcock

16. Keven Mealamu, 17. Charlie Faumuina, 18. Brodie Retallick, 19. Victor Vito, 20. Aaron Smith, 21. Beauden Barrett, 22. Tamati Ellison

One thought on “The Rugby Championship: New Zealand team to play South Africa

  1. I am quite surprised that Aaron Smith has dropped to the bench, I think he is an excellent scrum half.

    The All Blacks will still win this game comfortably.

Comments are closed.