Rugby Championship 2014: Argentina team to play South Africa

logoDaniel Hourcade has named his Argentina team for their opening game of the Rugby Championship against South Africa this weekend.

Juan Martín Hernández starts in the centres with Marcelo Bosch, while Nicolas Sánchez partners Martín Landajo at half back. The back three of Horacio Agulla, Manuel Montero and Joaquin Tuculet offers plenty of pace, while in the back row one of the finds of last season’s tournament, Pablo Matera, joins more established stars Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe and Juan Manuel Leguizamón.

Hooker Agustín Creevy captains the side as the Pumas go looking for their first Rugby Championship win.

Argentina team to play South Africa:

15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Marcos Ayerza

Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino

Date: Saturday, August 16
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kickoff: 16:05 (local, 14:05 GMT)
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)