Australia team named to play France in second test

wallabiesJames Horwill returns to the Australia side to win his 50th cap in this weekend’s second test against France, with Sam Carter missing out through injury.

The other two changes to the side that won so comprehensively last weekend are also injury-related, with Tatafu Polota-Nau replacing captain Stephen Moore and Ben McCalman coming in for Wycliff Palu. Michael Hooper leads the side in Moore’s absence.

Three players could make their debut from the bench, with Western Force hooker Nathan Charles and Melbourne Rebels pair Laurie Weeks and Luke Jones all primed for their first Wallaby appearance.

Australia team to play France:
15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 James Slipper.

Replacements: 16 Nathan Charles, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Laurie Weeks, 19 Luke Jones, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Kurtley Beale, 23 Pat McCabe.

Date: Saturday, June 14
Kick-off: 20:00 local (11:00 BST, 10:00 GMT)
Venue: Etihad Stadium, Melbourne
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)